KCSN Medical Advisory Board

The KCSN Medical Advisory Board has been established to support the work of our charity and, in particular, the clinical trials and research element of KCSN. The members of the board are recognised experts in renal cancer from leading institutions and hospitals around the UK, and many also serve on the National Cancer Research Institute (NCRI) Bladder and Renal Cancer Clinical Studies Group (CSG).

We are fortunate to have secured the commitment of such an eminent group of leading clinicians and nurses. We are honoured they have joined us in this exciting 5-year patient-led project to support research into renal cancer and to improve recruitment and retention of renal cancer patients in clinical trials.

Mr Christopher Blick 

Consultant Urological Surgeon, Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Dr Hilary Glen 

Consultant in Medical Oncology/Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer/NRS Research Fellow, Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre, Glasgow

Professor Vicky Goh 

Chair in Clinical Cancer Imaging, King’s College London, and Consultant Radiologist, Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital, London

Professor Robert Hawkins 

Cancer Research UK Professor/Honorary Consultant in Medical Oncology, University of Manchester, Christie Hospital, Manchester

Professor Rob Jones 

Professor of Clinical Cancer Research, University of Glasgow and Director of the Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit, Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre, Glasgow

Caroline Kelly

Senior Statistician, Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit, Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre, Glasgow

Dr James Larkin

Consultant Medical Oncologist, The Royal Marsden Hospital, London

Mr Steve Leung

Consultant Urological Surgeon, Western General Hospital, Edinburgh

Dr Paul Nathan 

Consultant Medical Oncologist, Mount Vernon Cancer Centre, Middlesex

Mr Grenville Oades

Consultant Urological Surgeon/WoSCAN Lead for Urological Cancers, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow

Professor Tom Powles

Professor of Genitourinary Oncology, Barts Cancer Institute, Barts and The London Hospital and Honorary Professory of Urology and Oncology, University College London

Linda Shephard 

Clinical Nurse Specialist- Renal and Testicular Cancer, Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital, London

Mr Grant Stewart

University Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Urological Surgeon, Academic Urology Group, University of Cambridge, Addenbrooke’s Hospital

Dr Fiona Thistlethwaite

Consultant in Medical Oncology, The Christie Hospital, Manchester and Honorary Senior Lecturer, University of Manchester

Nicola Thomson

Advanced Specialist Nurse in Germ Cell and Renal Cancer, Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre, Glasgow

Dr Naveen Vasudev

Senior Lecturer/Honorary Consultant in Medical Oncology/ESREP Academic Co-Lead, Leeds Institute of Cancer and Pathology and St James’s Institute of Oncology

Professor John Wagstaff

Swansea University College of Medicine, South West Wales Cancer Institute, Swansea